Osozaki no Himawari

16 03 2017

osozaki-no-himawari

Japanese title: 遅咲きのヒマワリ
Number of episodes: 10

Some info:
1) DramaWiki
2) Official Site (Japanese)

From the title, I thought there would be quite a bit of relation or references to the sunflower, but it turns out it’s more of a figurative expression (uh, actually I forgot the better phrasing for it). This drama series is actually very much of a human drama, where we get to see the various relationships among people, particularly to this group of residents who reside in a fairly small town at some countryside (sorry my Japanese geography isn’t very good).

The pacing of the drama may not be very high, nor is the content belonging to the exciting category, the characters do however, somehow grow on you and while the story is fairly simple and straightforward, I think the cast did a good job portraying their roles making the series a more enjoyable watch. There also happens to be some things which I could relate to so perhaps it enabled me to enjoy it a little more than the other person. Perhaps you might find something that you could relate to too.

I’m not sure why the ratings for this show isn’t very high, considering I found it to be more enjoyable than quite some other series I’ve watched and some of those have ratings (safely) higher than this. Was it due to the cast as the current cast does not feature some of the idols or really hot and popular artistes at present though I would say the cast is still a fairly well received one.

Overall, it turned out to be a more enjoyable watch for me than the initial thought that it might be a little on the dull/dry side. A pleasant surprise I would say, but it certainly is not suitable for everyone. It’d be nice if I could get pleasant surprises like this more often. Lol.

p.s. it sure didn’t feel like the area had that many people…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

