Your Name.

28 11 2016

your-name

Japanese title: 君の名は.
Rating: PG
Running time: 107 minutes
Opens: 3 November 2016, now showing

Some info:
1) Wikipedia
2) ANN
3) Official Site (Japanese)

This is probably one of the rare times you see me posting an anime show which I have caught in a cinema, but here it is. To be honest, I wanted to watch this from the very beginning but couldn’t find anyone to go with me until recently (for those who don’t know me that well, I don’t exactly go to the theatres alone). This is from one of my favourite directors and I believe I have watched all of his films (though not for the shorts and other stuff). While I may not be able to offhand tell you details from his previous works, but when watching each of those movies, they definitely left a good feeling/impression from the viewing.

For starters, it is quite evident that usual visual style, which I think can be considered as some sort of signature of his, is here again, and at least on the visual department there is hardly anything to worry about. Indeed, it is another breathtaking production to behold even with my less than normal perception of the world. I can only wonder what the others would be seeing (similar for his other works), but in any case, as long as it looks awesome I suppose that is good enough for me. The amount of details and “clarity” in many of the scenes is really impressive, as it continues to leave a good impression. There were some sequences/scenes which looked really, really awesome.

If anything, I suppose the movie’s story might be the area which will be of contention among viewers I presume. Firstly, there’s the idea of “time travel” and body swapping, along with some ‘supernatural’ elements, which some viewers may be looking for some sort of proper resolution and closure to everything which is inherently quite difficult to deal with, not just in this movie alone. However, some of those themes are required to execute the storytelling in a certain manner, and in any case, the flow went pretty fluid on the overall. So I suppose it’s more of the ending which may make people wonder or even slightly disappointed if they didn’t get the kind of answers they were looking for. Granted, there are a number of things not explained explicitly and perhaps some interpretation and imagination are needed to digest it.

As I typically don’t give a rating for such animation movies while I do that for movies I watch in theatres, I probably still won’t give it a score here. The whole package of this movie definitely places high among the works I’ve watched this year. Visual, music, storytelling were definitely top-notch, though it’s not like it’s 10/10 perfect. Nonetheless, I think it is a movie definitely worth catching. It should be an enjoyable experience.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

