Rurouni Kenshin

26 03 2016

rurouni-kenshin

Japanese title: るろうに剣心
Number of episodes: 95

Some info:
1) Wikipedia
2) ANN
3) Official Site (Japanese)

As mentioned previously (but it won’t appear anywhere near recent by the time you see this published), I began watching this classic series just the day before the live-action movie and back then I only covered enough for the main story arc for the movie’s plot, though I eventually realise there are a number of elements that took a little ‘mix and match’.

One may wonder why I haven’t picked up this series which was immensely popular during its time of airing. One of the reasons is that it was aired some years before I really began watching anime on a regular basis (and perhaps a little extensive at times). But I knew such series would be ‘covered’ by me someday, just a matter of when. If not for the movie which helped to ‘speed things up’, I am pretty sure even right now when you’re reading this, there is a pretty high chance that I have not even finished the main series.

Okay, I would say that given such a long series, there is definitely more time to have the character develop better, as well as having moments where you can joke around more and ‘waste’ some time. And of course, action wise it’s going to be much easier to achieve whatever highly skilled moves through animation and no doubt this aspect is one of the favourite aspects in the series.

As I am not familiar with the manga storyline, I get the feeling the anime’s plot went a little off track of sorts after the 2 major arcs as there was no particular major arc in place despite having a couple of dozen of episodes left. Oh well, at least the first 2 arcs were pretty enjoyable and exciting which was the bulk of the series and was certainly enough to establish itself as a pretty good series.

While the animation may not be able to match present day image/video quality due to the time gap and improvements over the years, based on whatever series I have watched of a similar era, it is definitely good enough to be established as one of the classic series. It was a good watch while it lasted, though it has been quite some time since I sat down to clear a long series like this one. Reminds me of the good old days where I spent lots of time clearing other long series when I first started picking up anime. I will be catching the motion picture + OVAs later on (should be done with them by the time you see this published).

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

