Doctor X ~ Gekai Daimon Michiko

29 09 2015

doctor x

Japanese title: ドクターX ~外科医・大門未知子
Number of episodes: 8

Some info:
1) DramaWiki
2) Official Site (Japanese)

This is the first title in its season that I have cleared, only because I saw that the ratings were strong right from the very first episode despite not having the most “big star” cast as compared to some other series in the same time period. In fact, as of the time it concluded its airing, it had the best average ratings and I think also the highest peak rating. Of course, there is still a chance that it might change later on, but even as I am drafting this it is still at the top spot (can estimate the time I drafted this then…).

Typically, shorter series tend to have pretty average performance at best but this one is a little different. The characters all have their fair chance in the show to develop and also a role to play. While not too much of the actual medical operation is shown, the other aspects leading/surrounding it are covered fairly well, creating more of a drama aspect rather than merely otherwise seeing medical ‘demonstrations’. There are also reflections about the kind of politics that go on in an institute that you expect to not put that ahead of its priorities in giving patients fair and quality treatment.

The background music used sometimes reminded me of another drama series I have watched but of course in the end it is a different feel due to how the show plays out in terms of presentation and all. To me, all these combinations and variations have a different vibe to it. But it was still a rather good viewing (and hearing?) experience overall.

I read somewhere that there will be a sequel to this, perhaps because of its much better than expected success or maybe it was already part of the considerations only subject to approval or something. I am not sure when the sequel would take place, but I suppose I would be giving that a look to see how things will go from here when that time comes. For all you know, the sequel might have finished airing by the time this entry is published despite me drafting this only about a week after the end of the airing of season 1.

Perhaps due to the presence of too many shorter than average series that are not exactly very appealing shows, this one happens to stand out much more than the others. I am not surprised by a possible sequel coming in the future and I hope to see more good things coming in the future as well. A good start of picks for me for this season of Jdramas? Hehe…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

